The Benton County solid waste program is managed by the Benton County Road Department and run in accordance with the Benton County Solid Waste Plan and with the advice of the Benton County Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC). The program is operated on a county-wide basis, though it functions in conjunction with activities managed by individual cities in Benton County (please see the Interlocal Agency Agreements section). The solid waste program is funded through county taxes, as well as a coordinated prevention grant (CPG) offered by the Washington State Department of Ecology. For more information, please see below.


Benton County Solid Waste Plan

Approval of Benton County Solid Waste Plan by the Washington State Department of Ecology


The Benton County solid waste program coordinates with the cities in Benton County as part of the coordinated prevention grant (CPG). The interlocal agency agreements with these cities for the 2019-2021 biennium can be located below.

Interlocal Agency Agreements with Benton County Cities for Solid Waste Management


UPDATE: Due to the current pandemic, SWAC meetings are being done virtually until further notice. Anyone is welcome to participate and can do so by emailing their interest to [email protected] Once a meeting is scheduled, you will be provided with a link to join online.

The Benton County Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) is comprised of representatives from each of the cities in Benton County, the Washington State Department of Ecology, the Benton-Franklin Health District, and local garbage and recycling companies. Please see below for the current members of the Benton County SWAC. The meetings are open to the public and are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at the Ben Franklin Transit office building, 1000 Columbia Park Trail, Richland, Washington, at 3:30 pm.


Current SWAC Members

Vanessa Coates - City of Benton City, Councilwoman

Don Britain - City of Kennewick

Don Aubrey - City of Prosser, Councilman

Brad Anderson - City of Richland, Councilman

Richard Bloom, Committee Chairman - City of West Richland, Councilman

Darrick Dietrich - Basin Disposal, Inc.

Patrick Puntney - Clayton-Ward, Inc.
Jeff Wheatley - Waste Management, Inc.

Mike Jewett - Sanitary Disposal, Inc.

Khris Olsen - Public Citizen
Caitlin Stanley - Agricultural Representative


Meeting summaries for previous SWAC meetings:

SWAC Meeting - January 2019
SWAC Meeting - March 2019
SWAC Meeting - May 2019
SWAC Meeting - October 2019
SWAC Meeting - December 2019


The Benton County solid waste program is partially funded through a Washington State Department of Ecology Local Solid Waste Financial Assistance Grant (LSWFA). This grant reimburses select activities up to 75 percent of their total cost. The LSWFA operates on a county-wide basis. The monetary value of the grant, as well as the activities funded, vary by county. The text of the 2019-2021 biennium grant for Benton County can be found below.

2019-2021 Local Solid Waste Financial Assistance Grant


The Benton County Public Works Department has had a draft study completed investigating the potential viability of retrofitting an existing government shop facility to a moderate risk waste facility. This facility, if completed, would serve to replace the semiannual collection events currently held by Benton County for household hazardous waste (HHW). A copy of the draft study can be found here.


    Benton County    620 Market Street    Prosser, Washington 99350
    Phone: (509) 786-5710 or (509) 783-1310
    Site Map   |   Employment   |   Powered by MunicipalCMS
    E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook